Feed “the Pig” some short stories, please!

Fiction anyone? Where are you fiction writers? I have received only 18 short story submissions to Pig in a Poke magazine, while Harry has already reviewed about 100 poetry submissions, each containing several poems. He was so inundated that we had to temporarily close poetry submissions until May. Essays and fiction are still open.

This got me thinking: are there more poets than fiction writers? Is it simply that stories take longer to write than poems?  Or is Harry receiving more poetry due to his name recognition or the names he has lined up for the first issue?

I am happy that among the stories I received were some very outstanding pieces. I have a good mix lined up for May and June ranging from gripping heartfelt slices-of-life to period pieces and even a couple humorous ramblings. I laughed out loud reading them. Talented fiction writers are submitting, just not as numerous as our poets.

Maybe it is the money. At this time “the Pig” is not a paying market. From my own personal experience, it takes about 20 hours to bring a story from draft to the polished version that I will send to publishers. This is a large time investment for me. I do give my work away to non-paying markets occasionally, but very selectively. On the other hand, Harry can write a poem in less than an hour–much less at times. With the larger time investment in stories, maybe fiction writers want to get paid for their work and poets don’t expect payment. It is hard to make money from poetry. All of this is speculation, of course. But there is the whole starving-artist image of poets.

What are your thoughts? Can you explain the prolific poets?

4 Responses to “Feed “the Pig” some short stories, please!”

  1. Hi,
    I can’t figure out how to submit a short story. Help me out here.
    PB

  2. Hi Paul,
    It is easy to submit. Attach your story as a Word or .rtf file to fiction@piginpoke.com. Read our guidelines here http://www.piginpoke.com/guidelines.html.

    I look forward to hearing from you,
    Trina

  3. Hi,

    I can’t figure out how to submit a poem. In fact, I’m not sure what a poem is. Can you explain, please? And who are you? If I’m submitting poems to you, why does your e-mail say “fiction”?

    HC

Leave a Reply

