The return of Pig in a Poke … call for submissions!

Announcing  Pig in a Poke— a literary magazine of poetry and fiction. New and resurrected! Brought to you by Harry Calhoun, the publisher of the ‘80s underground magazine Pig in a Poke, and guess who? Little ‘ol me: fiction writer Trina Allen.

“The Pig” featured work by Charles Bukowski, Jim Daniels, Louis McKee, lyn lifshin, Judson Crews and many more.

This new literary journal in electronic format is looking for writers with passion — poets, storytellers, essayists and others. Harry will pick the poems and literary essays, and I will select the fiction.

I am now a Web master. Wow! I spent the last week learning how to use Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) to develop Web sites. I learned enough to start up Pig and a Poke and also find out how much I don’t know about CSS. I hope my first attempt at using CSS is successful. Let me know what you think. I’d love suggestions. I now know that the pages look different on PCs, laptops, and probably Macs. Let me know if the home page doesn’t look like the image above on your computer.

Go Pig!

I’ve also organized a fiction writing group for Raleigh area writers. I’m looking forward to the discipline the group will give me. Perhaps now I can post more often about my publications. I have a new story out in April. More on that next time.

I hope I have time for it all. Maybe sleep is overrated.

2 Responses to “The return of Pig in a Poke … call for submissions!”

  1. Thanks for mentioning your lit mag on my site. I’m gonna link this blog post as well. I’m going to be doing a poetry reading in Raleigh coming up! Featured at an open mike, can’t wait!

  2. Hi Jessie,
    Thanks for linking to me. I’ll also add your blog to my blogroll.

    Where is the poetry reading. I live in Raleigh. I’d love to come. Is the open mike for everyone? My husband writes poetry. He’s doing a reading on the radio on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

