Agent search

I have compiled a list of the top 20 agencies that I would like to represent me in finding a publisher for my young adult novel, THE MAGIC QUILT. Now that I’ve done my homework, I plan to contact my top five agents and then use any feedback I get from those submissions before contacting others. I’m hoping to get my first queries out this week. I want someone knowledgeable with the young adult market and historical fiction/fantasy. It is important to me to find the right match for my book, someone who will be passionate in marketing it. Because I also write adult fiction, I am hoping to find an agency that represents both young adult and adult fiction. I am a little scared to send out the first query because it is such a big step.

There are so many sources of information on agencies in books and on the Web, it was hard to know where to begin searching. I had a few recommendations from fellow writers, which I used to start my list. After floundering a bit in all the available resources, I decided to use CHILDREN’S WRITER’S & ILLUSTRATOR’S MARKET, but I found only a few agencies there. I moved on to Agent Query and used that site to grow my list. Now I have my top 20, but I’ve got to narrow the list even further to my top five.

So far I have:
• searched each agency’s web site carefully and read the agent’s blogs, if any.
• read each agent’s submission guidelines so I can send them what they want–a query, sample chapters, outline, synopsis–and how they want it–electronic or snail main
• looked up recent sales for the specific agent at the agency I want to represent me in PublishersMarketplace to be sure the agent is a good match for my book.
• checked in Predators and Editors to be sure there are no black marks against the agency
• Searched for each agent in Association of Authors Representatives (US) or the Association of Authors Agents (UK).

I am ready to begin contacting agents. Wish me luck in finding THE MAGIC QUILT a good home.

3 Responses to “Agent search”

  1. Best of luck in finding the right agent for you. I found agent Noah Lukeman’s 49-cent amazon download “How to Write a Great Query Letter” to be helpful.

    It’s nice to see more and more agents using on-line submission systems on their websites and/or accepting e-mail queries. On the minus side, more an more agents flat out don’t nother to send rejection slips when they don’t want to represent a manuscript. You just never hear from them and have to write them off after X number of months.

    I hope you find somebody who loves your book and wants to take it to the stars.

    Malcolm

  2. Malcolm,
    Thanks for the insights and kind words. I was surprised that so many agencies are taking online or e-mail submissions.
    Trina

  3. Have you read Chuck Sambuchino’s blog, “Guide to Literary Agents”? http://guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog

    I’ve found it helpful. While I haven’t yet acquired an agent for my middle-grade novel, the fourth one I queried recently asked for a full.

Leave a Reply

